LibGuides: Hotel/Restaurant/Tourism Management: Find Books

Featured Books

Searching for Resources

You can search directly from the Library Home Page or use the Quick Search below. Some suggested search words or phrases:

Fire Prevention
Fire Protection
Fire Safety

Flammable Materials
Firefighter or Fire Fighter
NFPA

Searching for Videos In Our Films On Demand Service

Helpful Books

Catering by The Culinary Institute of America (CIA); Bruce Mattel
ISBN: 9781118137970

Publication Date: 2015-03-16

From launching the business, establishing pricing, setting up a kitchen, staffing, and marketing to planning events, organizing service, preparing food, managing the dining room and beverages, and developing menus, Catering: A Guide to Managing a Successful Business Operation, Second Edition, provides detailed guidance on every aspect of the catering business. This Second Edition is thoroughly revised and updated to include information on catering for dietary restrictions and food allergies, contemporary techniques such as sous-vide technology, and plating and presentation. Included is a new chapter of practical mainstream and on-trend recipes and sample menus for a variety of catered events from brunches to black-tie affairs
How to Start an Event Planning Business by Jill S. Moran
ISBN: 9781493011704

Publication Date: 2015-07-02

Have you ever wanted to be your own boss and set your own schedule while pursuing something you enjoy? Now you can make your dreams a reality. This comprehensive guide-updated and in its fourth edition-contains all the necessary tools you need to successfully launch and grow an event planning business. Using plain language and easy-to-follow worksheets, Jill S. Moran, CSEP, takes you through every aspect of setting up and running a thriving home-based event planning business. She shares her professional experience and expert advice on everything from estimating start-up costs and finding clients to planning and executing weddings, parties, corporate events, fund-raisers, and more! Whether you're just starting to explore your options or are an event planning wizard looking to be your own boss, this guide can help you establish and build your own successful home-based business. Special features and workbook pages include: Sample Budgets and Cash Flow Projections, Sample Business Plan, Sample Production Schedules and Planning Timelines, Contract Elements and Event Ethics, The Event Planner's Essential Tool Kit Book jacket.

Helpful Books Continued.................

Worldwide Destinations by Brian Boniface; Chris Cooper; Robyn Cooper
ISBN: 9781136001147

Publication Date: 2012-08-21

Worldwide Destinations: The Geography of Travel and Tourism is a unique text that explores the demand, supply, organisational aspects and resources of every tourism destination in the world. This fifth edition is brought up to date with key features such as: an exploration of current issues such as climate change, economic capacity, "grey" tourism and social impacts new full colour interior, packed iwth helpful pedagogic features, including discussion points and assignements to encourage greater student involvement a companion website is now available at www.routledge.com/cw/boniface and includes interactive, multiple-choice questions for students to test their own learning The book provides thematic chapters at the beginning which detail the geographical knowledge and principles required to understand how to approach the analysis of destinations. The further division of the book into thematic and regional chapters enables the student to carry out a systematic analysis of a particular destination. Worldwide Destinations: The Geography of Travel and Tourism is an invaluable resource for studying every destination in the world as well as the demand, resources and future of the geography of tourism. This thorough guide is a must-have for any tourism student.

Tourism and Climate Change by Susanne Becken; John E. Hay
ISBN: 9781845410681

Publication Date: 2007-08-17

The book provides a comprehensive discussion of the latest knowledge in the field of tourism and climate change. It is aimed at tourism practitioners and those with an academic interest in the fields of tourism management and climate change mitigation, adaptation and policy.

Crisis and Disaster Management for Tourism by Brent W. Ritchie
ISBN: 9781845411060

Publication Date: 2009-05-22

Tourism destinations and businesses are becoming increasingly prone to the impacts of crises and disasters due to global environmental change and security risks. This is the first research based book that provides a strategic approach to understanding the nature of tourism crises and disasters before outlining tourism crisis and disaster planning, response, and longer term recovery and knowledge management strategies. It applies a wide range of theoretical perspectives and concepts to improve our understanding of both organisational crises and natural disasters. The book draws on examples from around the world including the USA, Europe, UK, Asia-Pacific and the Middle East. It will be essential reading for tourism academics and students as well as tourism managers and government officials involved in tourism destination management and marketing.

Cultural Tourism Research Methods by Greg Richards (Editor); Wil Munsters (Editor)
ISBN: 9781845935184

Publication Date: 2010-08-24

The consumption of culture is one of the most important aspects of tourism activity. Cultural tourism includes experiencing local culture, traditions and lifestyle, participation in arts-related activities, and visits to museums, monuments and heritage sites. This book reviews a wide range of qualitative and quantitative research methods applied to the field of cultural tourism, including surveys, mystery tourist visits, visitor tracking, grand tour narratives, collage, researcher-created video, photo-based interviews, ethnographic and actor-network approaches. It provides a practical guide on how to conduct research as well as a discussion and evaluation of the methods.

101 Accessible Vacations by Candy B. Harrington; Charles Pannell (Photographer)
ISBN: 9781932603439

Publication Date: 2007-10-28

101 Accessible Vacations: Travel Ideas for Wheelers and Slow Walkers is the first guidebook dedicated exclusively to wheelchair-accessible destinations, lodgings and recreational opportunities. Penned by Candy B. Harrington, the editor of Emerging Horizons, this new title focuses on the vacation planning needs of wheelchair-users and slow walkers. 101 Accessible Vacations contains destination information on over 101 cities, lodging options, national parks, tourist attractions and recreational activities around the country. The book is organized so readers can search for a holiday based on their specific interests or travel styles. Unlike other guidebooks that are organized geographically, 101 Accessible Vacations includes sections ranging from Road Trips and The Great Outdoors to Historic Haunts and Cruisin. And last but not least, there is Candy's Picks, which includes a collection of some of the author's favorite trips, destinations and activities. Candy describes the access of all attractions, lodging options and tourist sights, rather than just stating that something is or isn't accessible. After all, accessibility is in the eye of the beholder and what may be accessible to one person can be filled with obstacles to someone else. Says Harrington, There's a world of travel choices out there for wheelers and slow walkers. And this book contains many of those choices along with updated resources, information and access details to make them a reality."