LibGuides: Dental Assisting / Dental Hygiene: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Medline
Partial Full-Text. 1937- present.
Description: Containing more than 3.7 million records, this database provides full-text coverage of over 1,300 English-Language nursing and allied health journals and publications, as well as journals in biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and more. Additionally, access health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, over 130 evidence-based care sheets, almost 170 quick lessons on disease overviews, 170 continuing education modules, and 360 research instrument records.
Academic Search Complete
Partial Full-Text. 1980 - present.
Description: Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The content in this database is also part of Academic OneFile.
Health Source : Nursing Academic
Partial Full-Text. 1975 - present.
Description: Provides full text articles from over 300 scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines including: Nursing & Allied Heath, Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.

Helpful Articles

A link between childhood stress and early molars This link opens in a new windowJun 9, 2021
Research shows that children from lower-income backgrounds and those who go through greater adverse childhood experiences get their first permanent molars sooner. The findings align with a broader pattern of accelerated development often seen under conditions of early-life stress.
Rare mineral from rocks found in mollusk teeth This link opens in a new windowMay 31, 2021
Researchers discovered a rare mineral hidden inside the teeth of a chiton, a large mollusk found along rocky coastlines. Before this strange surprise, the iron mineral, called santabarbaraite, only had been documented in rocks.
A gentler strategy for avoiding childhood dental decay This link opens in a new windowMay 18, 2021
By targeting the bonds between bacteria and yeast that can form a sticky dental plaque, a new therapeutic strategy could help wash away the build-up while sparing oral tissues, according to a new study.
Dental procedures during pandemic are no riskier than a drink of water, study finds This link opens in a new windowMay 13, 2021
A new study's findings dispel the misconception that patients and providers are at high risk of catching COVID-19 at the dentist's office.
AI helps predict treatment outcomes for patients with diseased dental implants This link opens in a new windowMay 12, 2021
Peri-implantitis, a condition where tissue and bone around dental implants becomes infected, besets roughly one-quarter of dental implant patients, and currently there's no reliable way to assess how patients will respond to treatment of this condition.
Independent evolutionary origins of vertebrate dentitions This link opens in a new windowMay 6, 2021
The origins of a pretty smile have long been sought in the fearsome jaws of living sharks which have been considered living fossils reflecting the ancestral condition for vertebrate tooth development and inference of its evolution. However, this view ignores real fossils which more accurately reflect the nature of ancient ancestors.
Comprehensive single-cell atlas of human teeth This link opens in a new windowApr 27, 2021
Researchers have mapped the first complete atlas of single cells that make up the human teeth. Their research shows that the composition of human dental pulp and periodontium vary greatly. Their findings open up new avenues for cell-based dental therapeutic approaches.
Study shows 2 percent of asymptomatic pediatric dental patients test positive for COVID-19 This link opens in a new windowApr 26, 2021
A new study has shown a novel way to track potential COVID-19 cases -- testing children who visit the dentist. The study also showed an over 2 percent positivity rate for the asymptomatic children tested.
Good dental health may help prevent heart infection from mouth bacteria This link opens in a new windowApr 15, 2021
Good oral hygiene and regular dental care are the most important ways to reduce risk of a heart infection called infective endocarditis caused by bacteria in the mouth. There are four categories of heart patients considered to be at highest risk for adverse outcomes from infective endocarditis, and only these patients are recommended to receive preventive antibiotic treatment prior to invasive dental procedures.
Imbalance in gum bacteria linked to Alzheimer's disease biomarker This link opens in a new windowApr 12, 2021
Older adults with more harmful than healthy bacteria in their gums are more likely to have evidence for amyloid beta -- a key biomarker for Alzheimer's disease -- in their cerebrospinal fluid, according to new research. However, this imbalance in oral bacteria was not associated with another Alzheimer's biomarker called tau.

Helpful Articles Continued..................

Oral Health a COVID Casualty - Dentists Struggling as Long-Absent Patients Seek to Return
Philadelphia Inquirer: June 17, 2021.
Good Dental Health May Help Prevent Heart Infection from Mouth Bacteria
ScienceDaily: April 15, 2021.
Oral Hygiene Habits and Possible Transmission of COVID-19 Among Cohabitants
BMC Oral Health: October 19, 2020.
Could There Be a Link Between Oral Hygiene and the Severity of SARS-CoV-2 Infections?
British Dental Journal: 2020.
Published online: June 26, 2020.